Sunday Trust online

I’ll give Nigerian editors credibility – NGE president

Newly-elected president of the Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE) has promised to give the association a credible and robust outlook saying his executive will work assiduously to ensure that the guild gets its own secretariat before the end of his two-year tenure of office.

Adesina made the pronouncement shortly after his emergence at the end of the NGE election held at Premier Hotel, Ibadan, venue of the 2013 convention of the guild.
According to Adesina who is the Deputy Editor-in-Chief and Deputy Managing Director of The Sun Newspapers, his team will ensure that the guild leverages on its contacts to build its own secretariat, the land for which was being prospected by the immediate past executive.
His words, “We’ll maintain the dignity of the Nigerian editors. 
“We still have a sense of responsibility and we’ll not do anything that is unethical.”
While describing the mandate given him as pan-Nigeria, Adesina expressed hope that Nigeria will become a place of good people’s dream if the political class could borrow a leaf from the election of NGE.
He expressed the hope that a new Nigeria is evolving.
He dedicated his victory to God and emphasized that the new executive would maintain the dignity of the Nigerian editors.
Adesina emerged NGE president by defeating his opponent, Tukur Abdulrahman, the Managing Director, New Nigerian Newspapers by polling 149 votes against the latter’s 57 votes.
Other positions contested for were vice president, north; standing committee; and the deputy president.  However, the positions of secretary, treasurer, assistant secretary, vice president west, vice president east and social/publicity secretary were unopposed.
Sulaiman Gaya, who scored 102 votes trounced Alli M. Alli who scored 62 votes, thereby emerging vice president, north. 
Sebastin Abu who polled 105 votes and Ali Hakeem scoring 108 emerged as standing committee members of the guild. 
Aisha Sule, who scored 137 votes emerged deputy president having defeated Ken Njoku, who scored 57 votes with four voided votes. 


Latest news

(C) Media Trust Ltd. 1998 - 2013. All rights reserved.